Who we are

MetaMeta is a social enterprise that operates through three specialized companies in the Netherlands: MetaMeta Research, MetaMeta Management, and MetaMeta Communications.

MetaMeta has registered country offices in Ethiopia, Kenya, Turkey, and Nepal.

The Water Channel, The Smart Centre Group, the Flood Based Livelihood Network and the Green Roads for Water Alliance are supported by us.

Through stakeholder mobilization, practical research, program development, implementation support, training, guideline and policy development, MetaMeta promotes better land and water management. MetaMeta has adopted eight themes – water management, landscape rehabilitation, green roads for water, flood-based livelihoods, regenerative agriculture, groundwater management, urban water resilience and smart centres. In all these themes the aim is to bring practical improvement at scale.

MetaMeta is a recent two times winner of environmental awards.

MetaMeta organizes meetings, webinar, master classes, to explore new developments in land and water management.

We are in the process of establishing MetaMeta-owned companies with the purpose of taking activities incubated in our group further forward.

We invite you to be in touch with our dedicated team of more than 35 practitioners-experts or to contact us at info@metameta.nl. A lot has happened since we started in 2004 but so much more is to happen still.

Who we are

MetaMeta is a recent two times winner of environmental awards.

Photo: Abraham Abhishek
Abraham Abhishek

Program Manager- Social Development & Communication

aabhishek@metameta.nl

Photo: Anastasia Deligianni
Anastasia Deligianni

Program Manager Green Roads for Water

adeligianni@metameta.nl

Photo: David Mornout
David Mornout

Assistant Program Manager

dmornout@metameta.nl

Photo: Dr. Abraham Mehari Haile
Dr. Abraham Mehari Haile

Program Manager Flood Based Livelihoods

ameharihaile@metameta.nl

Photo: Dr. Frank van Steenbergen
Dr. Frank van Steenbergen

Director

fvansteenbergen@metameta.nl

Photo: David Mornout
Dr. Taha Al Washali

Program Manager Urban Resilience

talwashali@metameta.nl

Photo: Dr. Taye Alemayehu
Dr. Taye Alemayehu

Senior Water Resources Management Specialist

taye@metameta.nl

Photo: Esmee Mulder
Esmee Mulder

Program Manager Water Management Specialist

emulder@metameta.nl

Photo: Florencia Rieiro
Florencia Rieiro

Manager Games with a Heart

frieiro@metameta.nl

Photo: Francesco Sambalino
Francesco Sambalino

Program Manager Landscape Rehabilitation

fsambalino@metameta.nl

Photo: Girma Senbete
Girma Senbeta

Senior Water Resources Management

girma@metameta.nl

Photo: Hilary Galiwongo
Hilary Galiwongo

Country Manager Uganda

hgaliwango@metameta.nl

Photo: Jean Marc Page
Jean Marc Pace

Program Manager Regenerative Agriculture

jpace@metameta.nl

Photo: Karin Bremer
Karin Bremer

Water Resource Management Specialist

kbremer@metameta.nl

Photo: Linda Navis
Linda Navis

Human Resources & Administration

lnavis@metameta.nl

Photo: Luwieke Bosma
Luwieke Bosma

Program Manager Regenerative Agriculture

lbosma@metameta.nl

Photo: Madiha al Junaid
Madiha Al-Junaid

Design and GIS

maljunaid@metameta.nl

Photo: Meghna Mukerjee
Meghna Mukherjee

Natural Resources Management Specialist

mmukherjee@metameta.nl

Photo: Moti Gemechu
Moti Gemechu

Water Resources Analyst

mgemechu@metameta.nl

Photo: Mulu Kinfe
Mulu Kinfe

Office Support

 

Photo: Nancy Kadenyi
Nancy Kadenyi

National Resource Management specialist

nkadenyi@metameta.nl

Photo: Moti Gemechu
Nardos Masresha

Community Engagement Specialist

nardos@metameta.nl

Photo: Osama Al-Jailani
Osama Al-Jailani

Coordinator Water Management Projects

oaljailani@metameta.nl

Photo: Rahma Mohammed
Rahma Mohammed

Finance and Administration

rmohammed@metameta.nl

Photo: Reinier Veldman
Reinier Veldman

Program Manager Smart Centres

rveldman@metameta.nl

Photo: Roy Hovens
Roy Hovens

Head Finance

rhovens@metameta.nl

Photo: Rudolph Cleveringa
Rudolph Cleveringa

Strategic Advisor

rcleveringa@metameta.nl

Photo: Saroj Yakami
Saroj Yakami

Country Manager Nepal

syakami@metameta.nl

Photo: Simon Chevalking
Simon Chevalking

Operations Manager

schevalking@metameta.nl

Photo: Sukru Esin
Sukru Esin

Country Manager Turkey

sukruesin@metameta.nl

Photo: Tegenu Zerfu
Tegenu Zerfu

Water Governance Expert

tegenu@metameta.nl

Photo: Theophilus Kioko
Theophilus Kioko

Country Manager Kenya

tkioko@metameta.nl

Photo: Victor Gitonga
Victor Gitonga

Water Resources Analyst

vgitonga@metameta.nl

Photo: Tegenu Zerfu
Yoseph Cherinet

Water Resources Management Specialist

ycherinet@metameta.nl

MetaMeta Associates

Photo: Allah Bakhsh
Allah Bakhsh

Flood Based Livelihoods Systems

kaisarani@gmail.com

Photo: Karim Nawaz
Karim Nawaz

Flood Based Livelihood Network

knawaz99@yahoo.com

Photo: Henk Holtslag
Henk Holtslag

Advisor SMART Centre Group

henkholtslag49@gmail.com

Photo: Dr Cecilia Borgia
Dr Cecilia Borgia

Water Management and Regenerative Agriculture Specialist

borgia@gmail.com

Photo: Dr Jan Teun Visscher
Dr Jan Teun Visscher

Water Management and Environmental Sanitation

jtvisscher@metameta.nl